Let the training begin!

image

While most people will be starting to think about what their new years resolution will be, I started my half marathon training.

Whilst I was supposed to start yesterday, my birthday got in the way of my best laid plans.  So instead of running, I went shopping!  I did in fact get a lovely new nike running gilet and adidas running top to go with my new fabletics leggings that Santa brought me.

So after an extra unplanned rest day, I officially started my training today.  This involved putting on all of my new gear (all the gear an no idea?), turning up my 1986 playlist to super loud and forcing my way out the door.

My training plan said to run for 30 mins at level 5.  I attempted this, with some (ok quite a few) walk breaks and jumping over puddles.  It was a wet and rainy slog!

image

I enjoyed my run, I haven’t run here before but spent a lot of my childhood in this area as my Grandparents lived here and I stayed with them often.
Although I did walk more than I had intended to, I did run up two hills without stopping.  It’s a start!

image

I am happy to have completed my first run on the plan and am looking forward to continuing-it won’t be easy but it will be worth it.

Today’s playlist

image

Whilst many of the songs on my playlist won’t be on my half marathon playlist, I had created my 1986 playlist in celebration of the year in which I was born (as it was my birthday yesterday).

I will be creating public playlists on Spotify as part of my training if anyone wants to listen in. You can check out my birthday run playlist here: https://open.spotify.com/user/11130411252/playlist/6NKXv4EKjxliF8TBhRmooe

My favourite part of the run was when Robert Palmer’s Addicted to Love came blasting through my headphones as I tackled the second hill of the day.  I found myself changing the lyrics in my head as I ran up the hill to ‘totally addicted to tough.  Might as well face it you’re addicted to tough.’  Because I found that hill and the run tough but I am going to keep going.

What runs have you been on recently? Do you have any motivational songs? I am planning on theming some my playlists as the training plan goes on to keep things interesting.

As ever, every run I do is part of my half marathon training which I am doing to take part in the North London half marathon to raise money for St Joseph’s Hospice in Hackney.
If you would like to sponsor me please visit:
http://www.virginmoneygiving.com/AmandaKelsey

A special thanks goes to my first sponsor, Louise Dingwall.  Thank you so much and I hope you have a very happy birthday too.

Amanda
✌💛😃

Leave a comment